Journal of Controversial Ideas

(ISSN: 2694-5991) Open Access Journal
Rss Feed:


Jeff McMahan (White’s Professor of Moral Philosophy, University of Oxford, UK)

Francesca Minerva (Researcher, University of Milan)

Peter Singer (Ira W. DeCamp Professor of Bioethics, Princeton University, USA)

Editorial Board 

Geoffrey Alderman (Professor of Politics & Contemporary History, University of Buckingham, UK)

Gustaf Arrhenius (Professor of Practical Philosophy, University of Stockholm, Sweden, and Director of the Institute of Futures Studies)

David Benatar (Professor and Head of Department, and Director of the Bioethics Centre, University of Cape Town, South Africa)

Paola Bergallo (Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, Universidad Torcuato Di Tella, Argentina)

Nigel Biggar (Regius Professor of Moral and Pastoral Theology, University of Oxford and Director, McDonald Centre for Theology, Ethics, and Public Life, Oxford, UK)

Susan Blackmore (Psychologist, writer, Visiting Professor at the University of Plymouth, UK)

April Bleske-Rechek (Professor of Psychology, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire (US)

Johan Braeckman (Professor, Faculty of Philosophy and Moral Sciences, University of Ghent, Belgium, and Co-Director of The Moral Brain Centre)

Paula Casal (Professor at Catalan Institution for Research and Advanced Studies and Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain)

Sophie-Grace Chappell (Professor of Philosophy, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, The Open University, UK)

J.M. Coetzee (Novelist and Professor of Literature at the University of Adelaide)

Rebecca Cook (Professor Emerita in the Faculty of Law, the Faculty of Medicine and the Joint Centre for Bioethics at the University of Toronto, Canada)

Thomas Cushman (Deffenbaugh de Hoyos Carlson Professor in the Social Sciences, Professor of Sociology, and Founding Director of The Freedom Project at Wellesley College, USA)

Sir Partha Dasgupta, Frank Ramsey Professor Emeritus of Economics, University of Cambridge (UK)

Angus Deaton (Dwight D. Eisenhower Professor of Economics and International Affairs. Emeritus at the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs and the Economics Department at Princeton University, USA)

Bernard Dickens (Professor Emeritus of Health Law and Policy, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Medicine and Joint Centre for Bioethics, University of Toronto, Canada)

Debora Diniz (Professor in the Faculty of Law, University of Brasilia, Brazil)

Paul Dolan (Professor of Behavioural Science at the London School of Economics, UK)

Alice Dreger (Historian of medicine and science, sex researcher, and writer. Founding Board Chair of the Intersex Society of North America)

Gerald Dworkin (Distinguished Professor of Philosophy Emeritus, the University of California, Davis, USA)

Elisabeth Ellis (Professor of Philosophy and Politics; Director, Philosophy, Politics and Economics Programme University of Otago, NZ)

Jessica Flanigan (Richard L. Morrill Chair in Ethics and Democratic Values, University of Richmond, USA)

Robert George (McCormick Professor of Jurisprudence and Director of the James Madison Program in American Ideals and Institutions at Princeton University, USA)

Jonathan Glover (Centre of Medical Law and Ethics at King’s College London, UK)

Bashshar Haydar (Professor of Philosophy, American University of Beirut, Lebanon)

Olle Häggström (Professor of Mathematical Statistics at Chalmers University of Technology in Gothenburg, Sweden, and Institute of Futures Studies)

Jonathan Haidt (Thomas Cooley Professor of Ethical Leadership at New York University’s Stern School of Business, USA) 

Thomas Hurka (Jackman Distinguished Chair in Philosophical Studies at the University of Toronto, Canada)

Douglas Husak (Distinguished Professor of Philosophy and co-director of the Institute for Law and Philosophy, Rutgers University, USA)

Godfrey Kangaude (UCLA-Sonke Health and Human Rights Fellow, Africa)

Claus Kress (Professor and Director, Institute of International Peace and Security Law, University of Cologne, Germany)

Holly Lawford-Smith (Associate Professor, School of Philosophical and Historical Studies, University of Melbourne, Australia)

Katarzyna de Lazari-Radek (Lecturer at the Institute of Philosophy at Lodz University, Poland)

John H. McWhorter (Professor of English and Comparative Literature, Columbia University, USA)

Karim Mattar (Associate Professor of English, University of Colorado at Boulder, USA)

Reinhard Merkel (Professor Emeritus of Criminal Law and Legal Philosophy, University of Hamburg, Germany, and member of the German Ethics Council)

Erick Valdes Meza (Adjunct Research Professor, Kennedy Institute of Ethics, Georgetown University, USA)

Maurizio Mori (Professor of Moral Philosophy and Bioethics, University of Turin, Italy, and President of Consulta di Bioetica Onlus).

Freddy Mortier (Professor of Ethics and Vice Pro-Chancellor, University of Ghent, Belgium)

Samuel Murumba (Professor of Law at the Brooklyn Law School, USA)

Philip Pettit (L.S. Rockefeller University Professor of Politics and Human Values at Princeton University, US and Distinguished Professor of Philosophy, Australian National University, Canberra, Australia)

Robert Plomin (MRC Research Professor, Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience, King’s College London, UK)

Janet Radcliffe-Richards (Professor of Practical Philosophy at the University of Oxford, UK)

Alvin Roth (Craig and Susan McCaw Professor of Economics at Stanford University, USA)

Bo Rothstein (August Röhss Chair in Political Science at the University of Gothenburg, Sweden)

Udo Schuklenk (Professor and Ontario Research Chair in Bioethics at Queen's University, Canada. Editor of Bioethics and Developing World Bioethics)

Todd K. Shackelford (Distinguished Professor, Department of Psychology, Oakland University, USA)

Tom Shakespeare (Professor of Disability Research, International Centre for Evidence in Disability, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK and member of the British Academy)

Christina Hoff Sommers (Resident Scholar at the American Enterprise Institute, USA)

Allison Stanger (Russell Leng Professor of International Politics and Economics at Middlebury College, USA)

Lawrence Summers (President Emeritus and Charles W. Eliot Professor of Harvard University)

Torbjörn Tännsjö (Professor Emeritus of Practical Philosophy, Stockholm University, Sweden)

Philip Tetlock (Leonore Annenberg University Professor, School of Arts and Sciences (Psychology) and Wharton School (Management), University of Pennsylvania, USA)

Andrew Timming (Professor of Human Resource Management at RMIT (Australia) and  Editor-in-Chief of Dire Ed)

Michael Tooley (Professor Emeritus of Philosophy, University of Colorado Boulder, USA)

Rebecca Tuvel (Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Philosophy, Rhodes College, USA)

Veronica Undurraga (Professor of Law, Adolfo Ibáñez University, Chile)

Oriol T Valls (Professor of Physics, University of Minnesota, USA)

Eduard Verhagen (Professor, Faculty of Medical Sciences, University of Groningen. Head of Pediatrics, University Medical Center Groningen, Netherlands)

Thomas Chatterton Williams (Author and contributing writer at the New York Times Magazine)